Log in Subscribe

Anderson Takes 2nd Straight Truck Win at Desoto


BRADENTON – A late race accident and a looming thunderstorm could not slow down Bradenton's Danny Anderson on his way to his second straight Pro Truck win at Desoto Speedway Saturday night.

Gerald Campbell and Steve Darvalics staged an early battle for the lead with Darvalics getting the upper hand at the end of the third lap of the 35-lap feature. He went on to a healthy advantage until the caution flew for Robert St. John's spin on lap 9.

Campbell, Anderson, Palmetto's Nick Hernandez and Ross Chastain staged a battle for second on the ensuing restart. Anderson went from fifth to second in just a handful of laps and began reeling in Darvalics despite some damage to the front of his truck incurred in the opening laps of the race.


Hernandez got past Chastain for third and quickly closed on the leaders to make it a three-truck battle in the closing laps. A caution for Cody Martell's spin on lap 28 bunched the field up again for a final sprint to the finish.

On the restart, Chastain made contact with Anderson, causing a five-truck pileup that sent Anderson into the turn two wall. Anderson eventually drove away from the scene with moderate damage to both ends of his truck, while Hernandez went to the pits for repairs and Chastain sent to the rear of the field by race officials.

Darvalics got the jump on the final restart, but the damage did not affect the handling or the speed on Anderson's truck. Anderson dove under Darvalics going into turn three and nosed ahead at the end of lap 33.

Anderson, who won last week's Joey Coulter Florida Pro Truck Series main event, went on to take the lead and win his second straight truck feature at the track. Darvalics, Chastain, Tyler Lau and Tommy Caveney rounded out the top five.

Hernandez was looking to finish his night with a sweep of both the heat race and feature wins in the J.D. Byrider Open Wheel Modified division. He started fourth behind early leaders Joey Logan and D.J. Hoelzle. After stalking Hoelzle for several laps, Hernandez got by Hoelzle for the lead at the end of lap 14.

Hernandez had checked out on the field until the caution flew for a blown engine and fire from Logan's car. Hoelzle made a final attempt to get by Hernandez, but in the end it was the Palmetto driver taking the checker flag just minutes before a heavy thunderstorm hit the track and washed out the night's remaining events.

"We had a little bit of tough luck the last couple of races and sometimres you get them, sometimes you don't," Hernandez said. "Tonight we got them."

Hoelzle finished second, with L.J. Grimm rounding out the podium.

In other action Saturday night, Jordan Miller won the Rookie 4 feature; Carl Thompson won his second consecutive Bomber feature; and Randy Johnson won the Mini Stock feature. The Take Aim Gun Range Sportsmen and the Pure Stock features were rained out and will be rescheduled for later this month.

A special Thank you to Nick Hernandez, Chad Chastain, Rick Palmer and Tommy Caveney from the Pro Truck Class for being our featured drivers at the Jr Fan Club on saturday night. They signed lots of autographs and made many kids very happy.

The Turner Tree and Landscape Super Late Models return to Desoto Speedway next Saturday night. The Pure Stocks will run two feature races to make up for Saturday night's rainout. Street Stocks, Modified Minis, Cowboy Cadillacs, Southeast Champ Karts, Mini Stocks and Rookie 4's will also be in action.


Open Wheel Modified
1. 37 Nick Hernandez Palmetto...
2. 8 D.J. Hoelzle Palm Harbor
3.25 L.J. Grimm Seffner
4. 59x John Inman Dover
5. 94 Dalton Nelson Pineallas Park
6. 45 Joey Logan Bradenton

Pro Trucks
1. 50 Danny Anderson Bradenton
2. 41 Steve Darvalics Venice
3. 36 Chad Chastain Alva
4. 1 Tyler Lau Bradenton
5. 09 Tommy Caveney Mulberry
6. 2x Gerald Campbell Sebring
7. 21 Randy Leonard Lake Placid
8. 37 Nick Hernandaz Palmetto
9. 7 Cody Martell Arcadia
10. 1c Billy Carlbert Palmetto
11. 78 Rich Palmer Old Myakka
12. 75 Robert St. John Arcadia

1. 75 Carl Thompson Auburndale
2. 57 Aaron Holmes Auburndale
3. 22 Ann Marie Ricardi Naples
4. 18 Logan Leonard Cape CorL
5. 43 Mark Petty Venice
6. 39 Jerry Tetting Nokomis
7. 01 Tracy Maynard Waumwa
8. 75x Alan Burton Sarasoto
9. Tristan Collins North Port

Mini Stock
1. 73 Randy Johnson Bradenton
2. 05 Ronie Robinson Bradenton
3. 91 Jessica Ostravskis St. Pete
4. 008 Ren Wright St. Pete
5. 1 Justin Amspaugh Bradenton
6. 11 Billy Carlbert Palmetto
7. 67 Sherry Best Myakka

Rookie 4
1. 15 Jordan Miller Bradenton
2. 68 Jessie Hidenthal
3. 1 Dodge Carlbert Palmetto
4. 67 Jimmie Best Sarasota
5. 42 Dustin Wilson Bradenton


No comments on this item

Only paid subscribers can comment
Please log in to comment by clicking here.