Log in Subscribe

Campi Dominates Late Model Feature at Desoto

MANATEE COUNTY -- Not even a rain delay could slow down Sarasota's Anthony Campi on his way to a commanding win in the Turner Tree & Landscape 75-lap Super Late Model feature at Desoto Speedway Saturday night.
Bradenton's Jesse Dutilly started second and passed polesitter T.J. Duke for the lead before the completion of the second lap. Dutilly pulled away early until Anthony Campi passed Duke for second. Campi started running Dutilly down and was within a couple of car lengths of the lead when the caution flew for Brian Richardson's spin on lap 17.
The caution flew again four laps later for a five-car pileup that started with Daniel Webster and David Green got together just past the start/finish line and ended in turn 1. 
After what would be the final restart, Campi passed Dutilly on the outside for the lead at the end of the 25th lap. He would go unchallenged the rest of the way, leading the final 50 laps on his way to the win.
"We were set up for long green flag runs and that's what we had to the end," Campi said. 
Dutilly, who said he had flat tires in three of the last six races at Desoto Speedway, finished second.
"I'm disappointed to run second, but Campi was the class of the field," Dutilly said. "We're gaining on him, but obviously we've got some work to do."
Chris Fontaine passed Jeff Scofield for third place with just a handful of laps to go. Duke, who won a Super Late Model event at Desoto a few weeks ago, rounded out the top five.
The Take Aim Gun Range Late Model Sportsmen followed with a 40-lap feature. Ryan Pancoast led the first four laps before being passed by Aaron Williamson, who pulled out to a lead of nearly five seconds over Brandon Morris and Steve Gainey before a caution for a spin on lap 28.
On the restart, Gainey roared from third to first. Williamson wasted no time getting back to the lead and found himself back at the head of the field on lap 31. Morris and Gainey got together going into turn, allowing Mark Peterson to slide into second place.
Williamson pulled away from the rest of the field to collect the win. Peterson and Morris staged a side-by-side battle for second place over the final two laps, with Morris nipping Peterson for the spot at the checkered flag.
In other action Saturday night, John Garrett won the Cowboy Cadillac feature; Duane Best took the victory in the 30-lap Pure Stock feature after initial winner Cameron Ray's car failed post-race inspection; Billy Campbell was the winner of the 25-lap Outlaw Modified feature event; and Joey Catarelli won the 25-lap Pro Figure 8 race.
Desoto Speedway returns to action next Saturday night June 7th with the Joey Coulter Pro Truck Series, Take Aim Gun Range Sportsmen and the J.D. Byrider Open Wheel Modifieds, Pure Stock, Pro 4/ Rookie 4 and Mini Stock. The Desoto Speedway J.R. Fan Club for kids will also give chance for the young fans to meet several of the Open Wheel drivers.

Super Late Model
1. 81 Anthony Campi Sarasota
2. 30 Jesse Dutilly Bradenton
3. 47 Chris Fontaine Lakeland
4. 6 Jeff Scofield Plant City
5. 28DT.J.Duke S.W. Ranches
6. 33 Daniel Webster Brooksville
7. 12 David Green Fort Pierce
8. 128 Dylan Bigley Naples
9. 28Billy Bigley Jr. Naples
10. 59 Jake Perkins Ocala
11. 57 Joe Winchell Dade City
12. 51 Michael Atwell Naples
13. 56 Brian Richardson Cape Coral
14. 5 Joe Boyd Riverview DNS

1. 13 Aaron Williamson Lakeland
2. 56 Brrandon Morris Mulberry
3. 73 Mark Peterson Sarasota
4. 79x Steve Gainey Bradenton
5. 25 Brooke Storer Zeypherhills
6. 47 Ryan Pancoast N.Ft.Myers
7. 33 Derrick Wood Orlando

Pure Stock
1. 3 Duane Best Parrish
2.97 Chris Scott Nokomis
3. 80 Chad Cummings Palmetto
4. 18 Troy Theim Sarasota
5. 74 Paul Huffstutler Bradenton
6 16 Cody Allen Lehigh
7. 63 Kyle Best Parrish
8. 67 Jimmie Best Sarasota
9. 44 Rick Hess Englewood
10. 9 Camron Ray Homosassa D.Q.

Outlaw Modified
1. 00 Bill Campbell
2. 26 Mike Endee
3. 14 Dan Ackard
4. 80 Richard Nelson
5. 04 Tom Meyer
6.51 Mark Patton l
7.22 Ric Mills
8. 5 Kevin Endee

Figure 8
1. 6c Joey Catarelli PinellasPark
2. 14 Wayne Kaulkins St Pete
3. 94 Charles Meyer Pineallas Park
4. 6s Shawn Senkossoff Clearwater
5. 11 James Poole St Pete
6. 941 Justin Meyer Pinnellas Park
7. 17 Michael Cherry Brandon
8. 16 Cody Benoit Lehigh D.N.S.

Cowboy Cadillac’s
1. 26 John Garrett Port Charlotte
2. 63 James Wright Naples
3. 2 Lance Somber Punta Gorda
4. 6 Chris Bridges Venice
5. 5 Ed Snyder North Port
6. 32 Shawn Shinault Punta Gorda
7. 80 Richard Nelson Port Charlotte
8. 8 Mike Bialaki Arcadia D.N.S.


No comments on this item

Only paid subscribers can comment
Please log in to comment by clicking here.