Log in Subscribe

Darvalics Dominates Truck Feature at Desoto


MANATEE COUNTY -- Going into Saturday Night's Joey Coulter Fellows Truck Brokers Pro Truck Series feature event at Desoto Speedway, Chad Chastain was looking for his fifth straight win at the 3/8-mile Bradenton track. But when the dust settled from a rash of caution flags, it was Venice driver Steve Darvalics parking in the winners circle and ending Chastain's stranglehold on the speedway.

Chastain started second and jumped into the lead immediately when the green flag flew for the 50-lap main event. Darvalics, who was the night's fast qualifier that started third after a three-truck inversion, quickly moved to second after the start of the race and wasted no time getting to Chastain's rear bumper.

Darvalics takes lead from Chastain at the end of ninth lap. Chastain would stalk Darvalics for the next several laps before a mechanical problem ended his race - and hopes for a fifth straight victory at Desoto - just prior to the halfway point of the race.


Over the final half of the race, Darvalics went unchallenged up front on his way to the finish.

"It's great to finally get back into victory lane here at Desoto Speedway," Darvalics said.

On the final lap second-place runner Brent Huber suddenly slowed, allowing Cody McDuffie and series points leader Becca Monopoli to finish second and third.Gerald Campbell and Dylan Martin rounded out the top five.

In the 40-lap J.D. Byrider Open Wheel Modified feature, polesitter Bobby Blake led the first nine laps with a swarm of cars directly on his tail. At the end of lap 10, D.J. Hoelzle would briefly take the lead.

Two laps later, Bradenton's Nick Hernandez found his was past Hoelzle and into the lead. Josh Todd followed him past and would stay on Hernandez's tail for the next five laps. Todd slowed with five laps to go, allowing Hernandez to cruise to the win.

"I knew Josh Todd was coming, but I just tried to keep my line straight and keep my right rear tire on the car," Hernandez said. "It worked and we came out on top."

Cody Stickler would finish in second, while Hoelzle nursed his smoking car to a third place finish.

In other action Saturday night, Jordan Miller won the Rookie 4 feature event; Sarasota's Mark Peterson won the 25-lap Take Aim Gun Range Late Model Sportsman feature; Jessica Ostrovskis won the 20-lap Pro 4 feature; Chris Larson won the Mini Stock feature; and Cameron Ray won the 25-lap Pure Stock feature.

Thank you Dalton Nelson and L.J Grimm for being our Jr. Fan Club drivers

Next week, Desoto Speedway will host the Turner Tree and Landscape Super Late Models, a non-wing sprint car feature and a full card of racing.


Pro Trucks

1. 41 Steve Durvalics Venice

2. 25 CodyMcDuffie Lakeland

3. 59 Becca Moropoli Lakeland

4. 2x Gerald Campbell Sebring

5. 7 Dylan Martin Lakeland

6. 7G John Garrett Port Charlotte

7. 28 Corey Bigley Naples

8. 09 Tommy Caveney Mulberry

9. 64 Bret Huber Venice

10. 75 Cody Martell Arcadia

11. 50 Danny Anderson Bradenton

12. 14 Sam Scott Naples

13. 8 Dylan Bigley Naples

14. 74 Dave Pletcher Webster

15. 12 Scott Hogan Naples

16. 78 Rick Palmer Sarasota

17. 21 Randy Leonard Lake Placid

18. 36 Chad Chastain Alva

19. 5 Richard Griffis West Palm

20. 31 Rodney Haddock Hilliard

21. 37 Michael Goddard Naples

22. 1 Tyler Lav Bradenton

23. 51 Phil Ellis Port Charlotte

24. 42 Eric Borges Naples


1. 73 Mark Peterson Sarasota

2. 25 Brooke Storer Zeypherhill

3. 56 Brandon Morris Mulberry

4. 13 Aaron Williamson Lakeland

5. 51 Roger Blevins Eagle Lake

6. 12 David Williamson Lakeland

7. 6 Greg Gorniak Homestead

8. 80 Richard Nelson Port Charlotte

9. 4R Rick Reed Punta Gorda

10. 98 Danny Brown Lehigh

11. 40W J.R. Welden Sarasota

12. 75 John Heidenthal Myakka City D.N.S.

Open Wheel Modified

1. 37 Nick Hernandez Palmetto

2. 99 Cody Stickler Pineallas Park

3. 8 D.J. Hoelzle Clearwater

4. 25 L.J. Grimm Sefner

5. 9 Camron Ray Homosassa

6. 94 Dalton Nelson Pineallas Park

7. 75 Bobby Blake Grand Isle

8. 45 Joey Logan Bradenton

9. 0 Josh Todd Polk City

10. 4 Bobby Baldwin Olsmar

11. 98x Kyle Cooper Mulberry D.N.S.

12. 51 Eric Purcell St. Cloud D.N.S

Pure Stock

1. 9 Carman Ray Homosassa

2. 97 Chris Scott Nokomis

3. 11 Billy Carlbert Palmetto

4. 80x Chad Cummings Palmetto

5. 63 Kyle Best Parrish

6. 5 Cody Carlbert Zeyherhills

7 30 Jacob Berkev ich Lakeland

8. 44 Rick Hess Englewood

9. 3 Duane Best Parrish

10. 67 Jimmie Best Sarasota

11. 8 Shane Leonard Cape Coral

12. 40w J.R. Welden Sarasota

13. 1 Justine Carlbert Zeyherhills D.N.S.

Mini Stock

1. 98 Chris Larson Zephyrhills

2. 91 Jessica Ostrovskis St. Pete

3. 05 Ronnie Robinson Bradenton

4. 85 Amy Gamache Tarpon Springs

5. 84 Ron Sorenson Pinellas Park

6. 31 James Prochaska St. Pete

7. 99 Johnny Marra Port Charlotte

8. 1 Billy Carlbert Palmetto

9. 11 Justine Amspaugh Bradenton

Pro 4

1.91 Jessica Ostrovskis St. Pete

2. 99 Johnny Marra Cape Coral

3. 05 Ronald Robinson Bradenton

4. 3 Sherry Best Sarasota

5. 98 Chris Larson Zephyrhills

6. 84 Ron Sorenson Pineallas Park

7. 1 Justine Carlbert Palmetto

8. 11 Justin Amspaugh Bradenton

Rookie 4

1. 11 Jorden Miller Bradenton

2. 1 Dodge Carlbert Palmetto

3. 67 Jimmie Best Sarasota

Mini Stock Figure 8

1. 85 Mike Gamache

2. 98 Chris Larson

3. 11 Billy Carlbert


No comments on this item

Only paid subscribers can comment
Please log in to comment by clicking here.