Log in Subscribe

Dutilly Overcomes Flat Tire to Win at Desoto


BRADENTON -- All season long, Bradenton's Jesse Dutilly had been fast in Turner Tree and Landscape Super Late Model racing at Desoto Speedway, but blown tires had cost him several shots at victories.

On Saturday night, not even another blown tire just eight laps from the end of the 75-lap main event could slow down Dutilly, who finally found his way into the winner's circle at his home track for the first time this season.


Polesitter Bill Bigley jumped out front to lead the first 12 laps with Joe Boyd and Chris Fontaine directly on his tail. Fontaine spun to bring out the yellow on lap 12, forcing to the rear of the 11-car field.

On the restart, Bigley and Scofield staged a side-by-side battle for the lead for several laps. Scofield finally got the lead on lap 22, but found himself being challenged by Dutilly immediately after clearing Bigley.

Scofield and Dutilly staged a hard fight for the lead for a few laps, with Dutilly finally gaining the advantage on lap 27. From that point, Dutilly set sail from the field and appeared to be on his way to his first win of the season until he blew a right front tire going into the first turn on lap 67.

"I've got a way of finding debris out here and getting flat tires," Dutilly said. "That was at least our sixth flat tire out here this year.

That handed the lead to Scofield, but Dutilly wasn't done yet after getting a quick change of tires from his crew. On the restart, Dutilly went from fifth to third and used another restart to get by T.J. Duke for second with five laps to go.

Dutilly quickly got to Scofield and got by for the lead with two laps to go. He held on for one last resart and collected the win, much to the delight of the crowd that had waited out a rain delay of nearly two hours to see the main event.

"This thing was super fast," Dutilly said in victory lane. "We've put a lot of effort in and we've been working really hard to fix what we've been giving up at the end of these races. The car was just awesome tonight."

Scofield finished second, while Fontaine finished third.

In Saturday night's 40-lap non-wing sprint car feature, Joey Aguilar paced the field for the first half of the race. As the leaders fought their way through lapped traffic, Sport Allen got under Aguilar going into turn one for the lead. Within three laps, Allen opened up a straightaway lead over Mickey Kempgens and Aguilar.

Allen jumped out front again on a restart just past the halfway point and was never seriously challenged again for the lead on his way to the win. Kempgens, Aguilar, Matt Alfonso and Steve Heisler rounded out the top five.

In other action Saturday night, Richard Nelson and Clint Snyder were winners in the combined Cowboy Cadillac and Bomber feature; Bradenton's Dennis Wilson won the Street Stock main event; and Dean Butrum won the Modified Mini feature.

Next week, Desoto Speedway will feature  the Dan Curl Twin 25's for the Outlaw Modifieds, Pro Trucks PRO 4's, Pure Stock, Rookie 4's, Dwarf Cars, Mini Stock Fig 8, Legends, Mini Stock

Super Late Model
1. 30 Jesse Dutilly Bradenton
2. 6 Jeff Scofield Plant City
3. 47 Chris Fontaine Lakeland
4. 5k Daniel Keene Jr. Weekiwachee
5. 28d T.J. Duke S. W. Ranches
6. 28 Billy Bigley Naples
7. 12 David Green Fort Pierce
8. 42 Troy McNabb Naples
9.  4 Dennis Colletti Bradenton
10. 128 Dylan Bigley Naples
11. 5   Joe Boyd Riverview
1. 88 Sport Allen St. Pete
2. 5   Mickey KempgensTampa
3. 11  Joey Aguilar Tampa
4. 9   Mat Alfonso Tampa
5. 25 Steve Heisler Plant City
6. 14 Richie Corr Plant City
7. 2 Larry Brazil Tampa
8. 92 Dave Retzlaff Brooksville
9. 22 Johnny Gilbertson Dover
10. 4 Geoff Styner Cape Coral
11. 3 Travis BlieMeister Venice
12. 63 Terry Taylor Dunedin
13. 69 Rick Voisey Wesley Chapel
14.39 Allan Randisi Port Charlotte
Street Stock
1. 42 Dennis Wilson Bradenton
2. 80 Richard Nelson Port Charlotte
3. 18 Logan Leonard Cape Coral
4. 16 Johnny Allen  Lehigh
5. 77 James Dellea  3rd. Port Charlotte
6. 7   Blaine Baer Port Charlotte
7. 50 David Blanchard Bradenton
8. 91 Ander Jackson Punta Gorda
9. 86 Dale Reigle Bradenton D.N.S.
10. 64 Bill Bowman Bradenton D.N.S.
Modified Mini
1. 32 Dean Butrum Venice
2. 93 Jeff Firestine Venice
3. 45 Mike Kerrivan Myakka
4 6   Todd Freed Bradenton
5. 05 Chris Thorton  Venice
6. 81 Travis Kirby Myakka City
1.15 Clint Snyder North Port
2. 39 Jerry Tetting Port Charlotte
3. 10 Tristan Collins North Port
Cowboy Cadillac’s
1. 80 Richard Nelson Port Charlotte
2. 63 James Wright Naples
3. 5   Ed Snyder North Port
4. 6   Kris Bridges Venice


No comments on this item

Only paid subscribers can comment
Please log in to comment by clicking here.