Log in Subscribe

Dutilly Wins Crash Filled Late Model Feature at Desoto


MANATEE COUNTY – Throughout the season, Bradenton's Jesse Dutilly suffered through several tire issues that cost him a shot at several potential Turner Tree and Landscape Super Late Model wins at Desoto Speedway.

Despite all of his early hard luck, Dutilly became the first driver to repeat as a winner in the late model class after taking the lead just prior to the halfway point of Saturday night's crash-marred 75-lap feature event and cruised to his second straight win at Desoto.

Outside polesitter Jeff Scofield grabbed the lead at the start and held the point until being overtaken by Billy Bigley Jr. for the top spot on lap 13. Bigley was pulling away from the rest of the field when the caution flew for Joe Winchell's spin in turn four on lap 17.


Scofield retook the lead on the restart with Bigly, Chris Fontaine, fast-qualifier Jesse Dutilly and Joe Boyd rounding out the top five. Dutilly passed Fontaine and Bigley on the same lap to get up to second before another caution flew for a spin involving L.B. Skaggs and Tyler Scofield on lap 25.

One lap after the ensuing restart, a five-car pileup in turn three took out Dylan Bigley Dennis Coletti, Doc McKinney and Daryl Shelnut, who was taken to a local hospital with an apparent arm injury.

Scofield and Dutilly staged a side-by-side battle for the lead for the next several laps, with Dutilly finally inching ahead for the top spot at the end of lap 30. Dutilly pulled out to a full straightaway-length lead over Scofield before the yellow flew again for Michael Atwell's spin in turn three on lap 67.

On the ensuing restart, T.J. Duke and Chris Fontaine got together in turn four, collecting several cars in the process. During the caution period, Fontaine and Duke engaged in a "shoving" match with their race cars on the main straightaway. Duke eventually slammed into Fontaine's car just past the flag stand, resulting in serious damage to both cars. Both drivers were disqualified as a result.

Dutilly got the jump on the final restart and easily pulled away for the win. Jeff Scofield, Billy Bigley, Joe Boyd and Tyler Scofield rounded out the top five.

In other action Saturday night, Jordan Miller won his second straight Rookie 4 feature;  Brian Scherrer won the Southeast Champ Kart feature; Randy Johnson won his second consecutive Mini Stock feature; Jeff Firestine won the Modified Mini main event; Richard Nelson won the Sun Belt Rentals of Fort Myers Street Stock feature; and Duane Best swept both 25-lap features for the LKQ Pick Your Parts Pure Stocks.

A special Thank you to our featured drivers for saturday night. #32 Dean Butrum and #93 Jeff Firestine both from the modified mini class. They gave each child an autographed picture, some candy, and Dean Butrum let each child autograph the front of his car. Great drivers we have at Desoto Speedway. Thank you

Special Thank You to Military Veterans that provided the fast qualifying and first place trophy for the Military Veterans Memorial  Super Late Model race.

Non-wing Sprint Cars and the J.D. Byrider Open Wheel Modifieds highlight next week's card at Desoto Speedway.


Super Late Model
1. 30 Jesse Dutilly Bradenton...
2. 6 Jeff Scofield Plant City
3. 28 Billy Bigley Jr. Naples
4. 5 Joe Boyd Riverview
5. 07 Tyler Scofield Plant City
6. 42 Eric Borges Naples
7. 05 Harold Grooms Lakeland
8. 10 George Gorham Auburndale
9. 51 Michael Atwell Naples
10. 128 Dylan Bigley Naples
11. 112 Steve Weaver Plantation
12. 63 Doc McKinney Fort Pierce
13. 4 Dennis Coletti Bradenton
14. 64 Daryl Shellnut Lake City
15. 71 L.B. Skaggs N.Ft. Myers
16. 57 Joe Winchell Dade City
17. 93 Joe Gentry Port Charlotte
18. 47 Chris Fontaine Lakeland D.Q.
19. 28d T.J. Duke S.W. Ranches D.Q.
Street Stock
1. 80 Richard Nelson Port Charlotte
2. 11 Billy Carlbert Palmetto
3. 77 James Dellea 3rd. Port Charlotte
4. 91 Ander Jackson Punta Gorda
5. 98 Codey Benoit Buckingham
6. 6 James Nanny Bradenton
7. 93 Jeff Firestine Venice D.N.S.
8. 51 William Rohrer Myakka D.Q.
Pure Stock (make up race)
1. 3 Duane Best Parrish
2. 67 Jimmie Best Sarasota
3. 46 Dennis Wilson Bradenton
4. 97 Chris Scott Nokomis
5. 98 Cody Allen Lehigh
6. 1 Johnny Allen Lehigh
7. 8 Shane Leonard Cape Coral
8. 80x Chad Cummings Palmetto
9. 11 Billy Carlbert Palmetto
10. 2 Lonnie Rutherford N. Ft. Myers
11. 26 Brian Hillyer North Port
12. 22 Randy Spicer New Port Richey
13. 63 Kyle Best Parrish
14. 94 Rodney Tower Ruskin
Pure Stock
1. 3 Duane Best Parrish
2. 8 Shane Leonard Cape Coral
3. 46 Dennis Wilson Bradenton
4. 11 Billy Carlbert Palmetto
5. 1 Johnny Allen Lehigh
6. 2 Lonnie Retherford N.Ft. Myers
7. 97 Chris Scott Nokomis
8.22 Randy Spicer New Port Richey
9.26 Brian Hillyer Noerth Port
10. 98 Cody Allen Lehigh
11. 80x Chad Cummings Palmetto
12. 63 Kyle Best Parrish
13. 67 Jimmie Best Sarasota
14. 94 Rodney Tower Ruskin
Modified Mini
1. 93 Jeff Firestine Venice
2. 68 Logan Allen Lehigh
3. 45 Mike Kerrivan Myakka
4. 9 Ashton Hunt Auburndale
5. 32 Dean Butrum Venice
6. 99 Dakota Hunt Auburndale
7. 17 Jimmy Wood Bradenton
Mini Stock
1.73 Randy Johnson Bradenton
2. 05 Ronnie Robinson Bradenton
3. 91 Jessica Ostrovskis St. Pete
4. 99 Johnny Marra Port Charlotte
5. 3 Sherry Best Myakka
6. 1 Justine Carlbert Palmetto
7. 11 Justin Amspaugh Bradenton
Rookie 4
1. 15 Jorden Miller Bradenton
2. 1 Dodge Carlbert Palmetto
3. 68 Jesse Hidenthal
4. 11 Dustin Wilson Bradenton
5. 7 Kristen Milthaler North Port
6. 67 Jimmy Best Sarasota
Champ Karts
1. 57 Brian Sherrer
2. 11Shad Dokkin
3. 10 J.D. Corden
4. 7 Dustin Chrisholm
5. 8 Doug Schmidt
6. 66 David Harp
7. 63 Ed Brillhante
8. 13 Chris Ssmith
9. 81 A.J. Isbister
10. 3. Jerrett Cornell
11. 77 Phil Harp
12. 78 Jason McGonnell


No comments on this item

Only paid subscribers can comment
Please log in to comment by clicking here.