Log in Subscribe

Hernandez and Stickler Take Twin 35


MANATEE COUNTY -- The Open Wheel Modifieds, sponsored by J.D. Byrider took to the high banks of Desoto Speedway for Twin 35 lap features. The field was set from an inversion of the heat races starting Travis Roland on the pole alongside Dalton Nelson. A nice stretch of green flag racing came to a halt as the first and second place cars, #10 of Travis Roland and the #0 of Josh Todd would tangle in turns 3 and four.


Nick Hernandez in the 37 machine, who has had nothing but bad luck so far this year took advantage of the restarts to work through the field and pick up a huge win. The 03 of Kyle Bookmiller took second while Josh Todd in the 0 recovered to take third.

The second feature was lined up by the top ten from the first feature pulling pills for position to set the field. Dalton Nelson started on the pole alongside Devin McLeod to start the race. In the second Twin 35 lap feature, a sixteen lap green flag run to start the race led to many cautions and restarts. The 99 of Cody Strickler took advantage just as Hernandez did to work his way up to the front and flexed his muscle on a late restart to score the win, his second of the season at Desoto Speedway.

Other winners for the night included Jeff Firestine in the Modified Minis, Chris Larson in the Mini Stocks. Duane Best wins the Pure Stock feature with Darren Bass in the Dwarf Cars and Darin Cooker battled for the win in the Legends.



Our 1st meeting of the Free Desoto speedway jr fan club was a huge success. We had 47 children sign up.  A special thank you to our pure stock drivers, Troy Thiem and Brian Hillyer. They answered many racing questions from the children, signed autographs and let the kids sit in their race cars. After a snack and drink, we drew tickets for prize giveaways donated by Access Garage Door.  A big thank you to our fan club sponsors, Access Garage Door, Devitos auto parts, Integrity Transmissions and James Carter attorney at law. Their sponsorships will allow us to give the kids t-shirts. Thank you to Photography by Tara Lynne for taking the pictures. And a special Thank you to Jimmy Cope and Denny Meyer for bringing the best racetrack back to life.

May 31st at Desoto Speedway the Turner Tree & Landscaping Super Late Models return to action for 75 laps and for the first time this season, Pro Figure 8 racing, Pure Stock, Take Aim Gun Range Sportsman, Cowboy Cadillacs and Mini Stock. Our New Jr Fan club will meet again next week with more fun for the kids.



Open wheel Modified #1...
1. 37 Nick Hernandez Palmetto
2. 03 Kyle Bookmiller Riverview
3. 0 Josh Todd Polk City
4. 24 Bruce Bennett Orlando
5. 99 Cody Stickler Pineallas Park
6. 9 Camron Ray Homosassa
7. 10 Travis Roland Lake Alfred
8. 98 Robbie Cooper Bronson
9. 75 Bobby Blake Grand Isle
10. 2 Ralph Bowman Seminole
11. 21 Devin McLeod Zephyerhills
12. 94 Dalton Nelson Pineallas Park
13. 45 Joey Logan Bradenton
14. 19 Steve Arnold Cape Coral
15. 84 Rob Haywood Bradenton
16. 25 L.J. Grimm Seffner
17. 51 Eric Purcell St. Cloud D.N.S.
18. V1 Terry Vaughn Arcadia D.N.S.

OPen Wheel Modified #2
1. 99 Cody Stickler Pineallas Park
2. 0 Josh Todd Polk City
3. 21 Devin Mcleod Zephyerhills
4. 10 Travis Roland Lake Alfred
5. 37 Nick Hernandez Palmetto
6. 03 Kyle Bookmiller Riverview
7. 25 L.J. Grimm Seffner
8. 98 Robbie Cooper Bronson
9. 9 Camron Ray Homosassa
10. 75 Bobby Blake Grand Isle
11. 2 Ralph Bowman Seminole
12..94 Dalton Nelson Pinellas Park
13. 84 Rob Haygood Bradenton
14. 24 Bruce Bennett Orlando
15. 45 Joey Logan Bradenton
16. 19 Steve Arnold Cape Coral D.N.S.
17. 51 Eric Purcell D.N.S.
18. V1 Terry Vaughn Arcadia D.N.S.

Pure Stock
1. 3 Duane Best Parrish
2. 67 Jimmie Best Sarasota
3. 97 Chris Scott Nokomis
4. 18 Troy Theim Sarasota
5. 15 Clint Snyder North Port
6. 80x Chad Cummings Palmetto
7. 74 Paul Huffstutler Bradenton
8. 10 Terry Collins
9. 26 Bryan Hillyer North Port
10. 44 Rick Hess Englewood
11. 63 Kyle Best Parrish
12. 33 Chris Loney Naples
13. 8 Jay Justice Punta Gorda

Modified Mini
1. 32 Jeff Firestine Venice
2. 45 Mike Kerrivan Myakka
3. 68 Logan Allen Lehigh
4. 98 James Ellis Brooksville
5. 93 Johnny Sapricone Bradenton
6. 6 Dave Davis Bradenton
7. 81 Travis Kirby Myakka City DNS

Mini Stock
1. 98 Chris Larson Zephyrhills
2. 31 James Prochaska St Pete

1. 00X Darin Coker Palm Beach Garden
2. 7x Dakota Baggett Lakeland
3. 4 Joey Azzota Boca Ratton
4. 19 Keith Sankula Palm City
5. 2 Robby Lyons Seminole
6. 08 Donovan Ponder Orlando
7. 7 Mike Verhaagh Fort Myers
8. 8 Jeremy Shelton Orlando
9. 15 David Flail Bradenton

Dwarf Cars
1. 25 Darren Bass Coco
2. 26 J.D. Cordon Grand Island
3. 77 Larry Hubbard 3rd. Cape Coral
4. 56 Larry Hubbard Jr. Cape Coral
5. 17 John Bailey Sarasota
6. 33 Roger Richmond Port Charlotte
7. 21 John Atherton Cape Coral
8. 2 Jerry Watkins Naples
9. 36j Justin Stockton Cape Coral


No comments on this item

Only paid subscribers can comment
Please log in to comment by clicking here.