Log in Subscribe

Manatee County Accepting Applications for Myakka City Fire Control District


MANATEE COUNTY – Manatee County is accepting applications for one fire commission seat to serve the Myakka City Fire Control District. 

The District operates two staffed fire stations; one located on Wauchula Road in the village of Myakka City and the second station on State Road 70 located near Verna Bethany, Verna and Panther Ridge.

There are 18 months remaining on a 4-year-term commission seat which is up for appointment on the volunteer board. The term expires on May 31, 2015.

The Fire Board oversees the fire district with the authority to spend money, incur debt and hire qualified fire personnel.  The Board meets on a monthly basis at a location, date and time that is agreed upon by the board members.

The Myakka City Fire Control District was established in 1986 by a special act of the Manatee County Board of County Commissioners as a Manatee County Dependent Fire District. The Fire District is located east of County Road 675 and extends easterly to the Desoto and Hardee County lines.  The District responds to more than 500 emergency calls annually, covering an area of 230 square miles.

Myakka residents may inquire as to seat and residency requirements by contacting Myakka City Fire Chief Dan Cacchiotti at (941) 322-6525 or email him at dpcacchiotti@myakkafire.org.

Application deadline is Nov. 21 and may be found online at www.mymanatee.org/advisory_boards or www.myakkacityfire.org click on commission seat applications.


No comments on this item

Only paid subscribers can comment
Please log in to comment by clicking here.