Log in Subscribe

Manatee's Tommy Frazier to Finally be Enshrined in College Football Hall of Fame


BRADENTON – At long last, former Manatee High QB and University of Nebraska legend Tommy Frazier will be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame. The hall announced members this week who will be inducted as the 2013 class in a December 10 ceremony at the New York Waldorf Astoria. Long considered one of the greatest college players of all-time, the two-time national champion, who was kept from a pro career because of issues with blood clots resulting from Crohn's disease, will be among 14 players inducted this year.

Frazier, who played at Nebraska from 1992-1995, led the Cornhuskers to back-to-back national championships in 1994 and 1995, after making it to the championship game in 1993, but losing to Florida State. Frazier was named bowl-game MVP of all three national championship games he played in, a feat that has never been matched. The 1995 Nebraska team was voted the best college football team of all time in a 2006 ESPN.com poll and Frazier was named the number 33 on CollegeFootballNews.com's Top 100 Greatest College Football Players of All-Time list in 2004.

After his playing days, the Palmetto native was as an assistant QB coach and then RB coach at Baylor University before serving as an assistant director of athletic development at Nebraska. In 2005, Frazier was named head coach of the Doane College football team, an NAIA school in Crete, Nebraska, but was let go in 2007 after compiling a 3-17 record. He has been eligible for the hall since 2006. Expected by most pundits to be selected on the first ballot, Frazier was passed over for seven classes that have been inducted since. The rest of the 2013 class is listed below.

2013 class:

Ted Brown, TB, North Carolina State (1975-1978)
Tedy Bruschi, DE, Arizona (1992-1995)
Ron Dayne, RB, Wisconsin (1996-1999)
Tommie Frazier, QB, Nebraska (1992-1995)
Jerry Gray, DB, Texas (1981-1984)
Steve Meilinger, E, Kentucky (1951-1953)
Orlando Pace, OT, Ohio State (1994-1996)
Rod Shoate (deceased), LB, Oklahoma (1972-1974)
Percy Snow, LB, Michigan State (1986-1989)
Vinny Testaverde, QB, Miami (1982, 1984-1986)
Don Trull, QB, Baylor (1961-1963)
Danny Wuerffel, QB, Florida (1993-1996)


No comments on this item

Only paid subscribers can comment
Please log in to comment by clicking here.