Log in Subscribe

Hernandez Awarded Desoto Win After Chastain is DQ'ed


MANATEE COUNTY -- Any time that the Pro Trucks have shown up to race this year at Desoto Speedway, Chad Chastain has been the man to beat.

Saturday night was no different for Chastain, who led all 35 laps of the evening's main event to tentatively give him his fifth win in six starts this year at the Bradenton facility. However, Chastain's truck failed post race inspection, handing the win to Bradenton's Nick Hernandez.


Chastain started second but grabbed the lead at the drop of the green flag. With Chastain controlling the race, Bradenton's Nick Hernandez was using the outside lane to pick off cars and found himself fourth when the yellow flag flew for debris at the halfway point of the race.

Hernandez passed Tyler Lau for third on the restart and started working on Bradenton's Danny Anderson for second place. When the caution flew for debris on lap 21, the top four of Chastain, Anderson, Hernandez and Bradenton's Dennis Colletti were running nose-to-tail around the 3/8-mile track.

On the restart, Hernandez got by Anderson for second and set his sights on Chastain. Hernandez got to Chastain's rear bumper several times but could not make the pass. Chastain inched away over the final five laps to claim the win.

"When you start in the back, you work your way to the front but just run out of time and run out of tires," Hernandez said before finding out he was declared the winner. "If we could have started up front, you never know what could have happened."

Anderson and Rick Palmer rounded out the top three. Colletti, who initially finished third, was also disqualified after failing post race inspection.

The Outlaw Modifieds were on hand for the Dan Curl Memorial Twin 25's. In the first race, Richard Nelson led the first several laps before Billy Campbell, who started in the rear of the field, stormed his way to the front.

Campbell had the race well in hand before slowing in turn two, allowing Mike Endee to draw even down the back stretch. Endee and Campbell raced side-by-side through turns three and four, with Endee getting the edge in the final run to the checkered flag.

In the second race, Endee grabbed the lead from Nelson on the third lap and went on to complete the sweep of the twin races, which are considered the biggest races of the year for that division.

"Every year they have this race and I've either blown a motor or have something that's gone wrong," Endee said in victory lane after the second race. "This is the first time I've won this race and that makes it five wins in six races for us this year. It feels great."

In other action Saturday night, Randy Johnson held off Ronnie Robinson to win the 25-lap Pro 4/Mini Stock feature; Dennis Wilson was the winner of the 25-lap Pure Stock feature; Dustin Wilson won the Rookie 4 feature, Darren Bass won the 20-lap Dwarf Car main event; Keith Sinkula won the 25-lap Legends race; and Chris Larson won the Mini Stock Figure 8.

Next Saturday night, Desoto Speedway will host the Florida State School Bus Figure 8 Championships. Monster Trucks Iron Outlaw and Bounty Hunter will also be on hand along with a demolition derby. The J.D. Byrider Open Wheel Modifieds, Street Stocks and other classes will also be in action.


Pro Trucks
1. 37 Nick Hernandez Palmetto
2. 50 Danny Anderson Bradenton
3. 78 Rick Palmer Old Myakka
4. 7  Cody Martell Arcadia
5. 09 Tommy Caveney Mulberry
6.. 10 Ricky Bullard jr. Arcadia
7. 1   Tyler Lau Bradenton
8. 75 Robert St. John Arcadia
9. 5 Jeremy Daring Alva
10. 24 Donnie BurkHalter Orlando
11. 36 Chad Chastain Alva D.Q.
12.4c Dennis Colletti Sarasota D.Q.
13. 8  Sean Lemaster Naples D.N.S.

Outlaw Modified #1
1. 26 Mike Endee North Port
2. 00 Billy Campbell Port Richey
3. 80 Richard Nelson Port Charlotte
4. 22 Ric Mills Arcadia
5. 04 Tom Meyer Pinellas Park
6. 14 Dan Akard Fort Myers
7. 61  Paul Richards Sr. Naples
8.  5  Kevin Endee North Port
9.  24 Don Peacock Islamorada D.N.S.

Outlaw Modified #2
1. 26  Mike Endee North Port
2. 14 Don Akard Fort Myers
3. 22 Ric Mills Arcadia
4. 5  Kevin Endee North Port
5. 00 Billy Campbell Port Richey
6. 80 Richard Nelson Port Charlotte
7. 61 Paul Richards Naples
8. 04 Tom Meyers Pineallas Park
9. 24 Don Peacock Islamorada D.N.S.

Pure Stock
1 46 Dennis Wilson Bradenton
2. 8  Shane Leonard Cape Coral
3. 80x Chad Cummings Palmetto
4. 9   Camron Ray Homosassa
5. 11 Billy Carlbert Palmetto
6. 26 Bryan Hillyer North Port
7. 75 Alan Burton Sarasota
8. 97 Chris Scott Nokomis
9. 3  Duane Best Parrish
10. 5. Cody Carlbert Palmetto
11. 63 Kyle Best Parrish
12. 98 L.B. Skaggs N. Ft. Myers
13. 16 Johnny Allen Lehigh
14. 67 Jimmie Best Sarasota
15. 94 Rodney Tower Ruskin D.N.S.
16. 44 Rich Hess Englewood  DNS

1. 19 Keith Sinkula Palm City
2. 96 David Owen Vero Beach
3.  8 Donovan Ponder Orlando
4. 7  Mike Verhaagh Fort Myers
5.  8c William Hindman Orlando
6.  54 Tony Steinbuck Tamarac
7. 15 David Flail Bradenton
8. 00 Darin Coker Palm Beach Garden
9. 48fl Carl Haag Port St. Lucy D.N.S.

Pro 4 / Mini Stock
1. 73 Randy Johnson Bradenton
2. 05 Ronnie Robinson Bradenton
3. 91 Jessica Ostrovskis St. Pete
4. 98 Chris Larson Zephyrhills
5. 99 Johnny Marra Cape Coral
6. 3   Sherry Best Sarasota
7. 85 Mike Gamache Tarpon Springs
8. 1  Justine Carlbert Palmetto
9. 11 Justin Amspaugh Bradenton

Rookie 4
1. 42 Dustin Wilson Bradenton
2.  1  Dodge Carlbert Palmetto
3. 11 Jorden Miller Bradenton
4. 68 Jesse Heidenthal Myakka
5. 7   Kristen Milthaler North Port
6. 67 Jimmy Best Sarasota

Mini Figure 8’s
1. 98 Chris Larson
2. 85 Mike Gamache
3. 11 Justin Amspaugh Bradenton
4. 008 Ben Wright St. Pete D.N.S.
5. 1    Billy Carlbert Palmetto D.N.S

Dwarf Cars
1. 25 Darren Bass Coco
2. 26 J.D. Gorden Grand Island
3. 33 Roger Richmond Port Charlotte
4. 21 John Atherton Cape Coral
5. 17 John Bailey Sarasoto
6. 56 Larry Hubbard Jr. Cape Coral
7. 36j Larry Hubbard Jr. Cape Coral
8. 04 Rick Lundeen Jacksonville D.N.S.


No comments on this item

Only paid subscribers can comment
Please log in to comment by clicking here.